Fred Thomas Jazz Trio

This trio produced sounds that were a synthesis of Fred’s compositions and free improv, exploring those made possible by delving into the bowels of a grand piano – using bluetac, rubbers, pegs, coins, plectrums, mallets, and cymbals – and uniting these discoveries with the exquisite playing of Robin Fincker and Ben Bryant.┬áTheir E.P. ‘It’s Time’ was released in 2006.

Fred Thomas – (prepared) piano

Robin Fincker – clarinet

Ben Bryant – percussion


It's Time

by Ted Allen

Piano Preparation

Photo by Alex Bonney

Fred Thomas

Photo by Elliot Taylor