“A boundary-blurring composer and improviser” – Gramophone Magazine

Fred Thomas is an ECM artist and one of London’s most sought after multi-instrumentalists and composer/arranger/producers, known for his breadth of musical styles as well as for specialising in creative re-interpretations of J.S. Bach. Thomas’s first appearance on ECM Records came in 2020 as pianist/drummer on Elina Duni’s “Lost Ships”. His subsequent debut as a leader was on the ECM New Series label with “Three or One”, 24 pieces by Bach transcribed for trio and solo piano by Thomas himself, featuring cellist Lucy Railton and violinist Aisha Orazbayeva, released in 2021.

Of British and Argentinian background, Thomas has collaborated with a huge variety of artists worldwide including Brian Eno, Yo-Yo Ma, Pierre-Laurent Aimard, Jordi Savall, Rachel Podger, Meredith Monk, Jarvis Cocker, Lianne Le Havas, Jeanne Added, Elizabeth Kenny, Jill Feldman, Lucy Crowe, Roderick Williams, Ethan Iverson, Larry Grenadier, Benoît Delbecq, Kit Downes, Tamara Stefanovich, Leo Abrahams, Kadialy Kouyate, Olivia Chaney and Kees Boeke. He has released a large discography of albums across various genres, particularly classical and jazz, and is published by Spartan Press and Edition Wilhelm Hansen.

Having started to play classical piano at the age of five, Thomas went on to study jazz piano and composition at the Royal Academy of Music, where he developed an interest in rhythmic cultures from Africa and Latin America, free improvisation, contemporary classical, medieval music, the Chantilly Codex, improvised counterpoint and Baroque music, in particular Bach. He works regularly as Musical Director with the National Theatre and Shakespeare’s Globe and teaches at Trinity Laban Conservatoire. Thomas has produced albums for labels such as Warner Classics with international artists such as Abel Selaocoe, The Magic Lantern and Alice Zawadzki. His most recent compositions were performed internationally and at the Royal Opera House, by ensembles such as Phaedra Ensemble and Bittersuite.



Fred Thomas (BMus Lond. Royal Academy of Music) (ARAM)






Three or One (ECM New Series)

Dance Suites (J.S. Bach)

Dick Wag: a Tribute to Richard Wagner (feat. Benoit Delbecq & Ewan Bleach)

Polyphonic Jazz Band

Spinning Threads


JS Banjo

Abel Selaocoe

Martin Speake/Ethan Iverson Quartet

Ruth Bruckner & Fred Thomas

The Beguilers

Elina Duni

Alice Zawadzki

The Magic Lantern

Sands Films


F-IRE Collective

Thomas Duo

Monk Spent Youth

Phelan Burgoyne Group

Kadialy Kouyate/Fred Thomas Duo


Chantilly Codex

Fred Thomas Jazz Trio

Mor Karbasi 

Lisa Knapp

Alex Bonney/Fred Thomas Duo

Jiri Slavik/Fred Thomas Duo

Basquiat Strings

Fly Agaric

F-IRE Klang Codex

Fred Thomas/Oren Marshall Duo

Sister Mary & the Choir Boys

Barnaby Keen 

Clara Sanabras

El Ultimo Tango

Ensemble Nuevo Tango

Fernando Egozcue



Brain Eno, YoYo Ma, Pierre-Laurent Aimard, Jordi Savall, Jarvis Cocker, Larry Grenadier, Ethan Iverson, Elina Duni, Tamara Stefanovich, Abel Selaocoe, Elizabeth Kenny, Leo Abrahams, Benoit Delbecq, Liam Noble, Elysian Quartet, Jeanne Added, Mor Karbasi, Native Dancer, Adriano Adewale, Kammer Klang, Phil Robson, Mark Lockheart, Jason Yarde, Maurizio Ravalico, Julian Siegel, Zac Gvi, The Memory Band, Christine Tobin, Byron Wallen, Liam Byrne, Mamadou Sarr, Resonance FM, BBC, CBSO, Seb Rochford, Kit Downes, Pete Flood, Alice Zawadzki, Phaedra Ensemble.



Trinity Laban

Chichester University

Prague Academy of Performing Arts

Barbican Centre

Private Tuition

Teachers: Dave Holland, John Taylor, Avishai Cohen, Marc Copland, Fred Hersch, Pete Churchill, Barak Schmool, Oren Marshall, Gerard Presencer, Gwilym Simcock, Huw Warren, Billy Jenkins, Newton Armstrong.



Abel Selaocoe

Elina Duni

The Magic Lantern

Barnaby Keen

Quest Ensemble


Alice Zawadzki

Lily Luca

The Beguilers

Adam Beattie

Garance Louis

Ellie Rose Rusbridge

Rhia Parker

Miranda Joy



Shakespeare’s Globe (MD)

The National Theatre

Filter Theatre

Everyman Theatre

Aldeburgh Festival

Spanish National Dance Company

The Yard Theatre


Greenwich Dance Agency



‘J.S. Bach – 39 Chorale Preludes’ published by Edition Wilhelm Hansen

‘10 Bach Fugues for String Quartet, Volumes I and II’ – Spartan Press